Skip to content ↓

Early Years

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) 

From 1st September 2021, a revised Early Years Foundation Stage

(EYFS) framework will become statutory. The EYFS has 7 areas of learning and development. All areas are important and interconnected, but 3 areas have been identified as crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning.  

These are the “Prime” areas:  

·         Communication and language;  

·         Physical development;  

·         Personal, social and emotional development  

These prime areas are strengthened and applied through the remaining 4 “Specific” areas of:  

·        Literacy;  

·        Mathematics;  

·        Understanding the world; and  

·        Expressive arts and design.    

The level of development children should be expected to have attained by the end of the EYFS is defined by the early learning goals (ELGs) which we assess against at the end of the school year. Follow the link to find out about the ELGs. 

EYFS at West Leigh 

Our aim is for all children to develop as motivated and curious learners, regardless of backgrounds, circumstances or needs. Our intent is for children to make great progress across all of the seven areas, whilst developing a real passion for learning. 

We do this through:  

  • A balance of child-initiated and adult-led learning using continuous play and small group activities.  
  • Adults scaffolding children’s learning through play, following the child’s interests. 
  • An exciting learning environment which promotes independence and inspires curiosity.  

 Meet the team 

Mrs Mead – Class teacher in Squirrel Class and Early Years Phase Leader 

Miss Harford – Class teacher in Badger Class (Monday-Wednesday) 

Mrs Allen - Class teacher in Badger Class (Wednesday-Friday) 


Badger Class
Book Corner









PE in the hall
Outside area








Outside play area
Outside area